Id Photo

Mathematisches Institut
Endenicher Allee 60
53115 Bonn, Germany

Office: 3.023
Tel: +49 228 73 62239
eMail: f.hebestreit at
Office hours: by appointment

Fabian Hebestreit

I am a Post-Doc in the Topology group at the University of Bonn under the supervision of Wolfgang Lück.
During the summer 2020 I will be visiting Søren Galatius at the University of Copenhagen. During the summer 2018 I was at the Newton Institute in Cambridge, UK, as a participant of the program Homotopy harnessing higher structures and for the winter term 17/18 I was on leave from Bonn as a visiting professor in the Differential Geometry group at the University of Augsburg substituting for Wolfgang Steimle.
Here is a CV.

Furthermore, I am currently the organiser of the Bonn topology seminar and organised the workshop Automorphisms of Manifolds with Wolfgang.

Research Interests

Manifolds, mostly high dimensional! That is: Algebraic & Geometric Topology with a view towards Differential Geometry.
More specifically at the moment: Surgery theory and its applications to scalar curvature questions; cobordism categories and characteristic classes of manifold bundles; twisted bordism groups and parametrised homotopy theory

Publications and Preprints

Articles for Conference Proceedings

  • with I. Bokor, D. Crowley, S. Friedl, D. Kasprowski, M. Land & J. Nicholson: Connected sum decompositions of high-dimensional manifolds.
    arXiv: 1909.02628 (2019, submitted)
  • The Tate Diagonal (extended abstract).
    Oberwolfach Reports vol. 15, no. 1, Arbeitsgemeinschaft: Topological Cyclic Homology (2018), pp. 825 - 838.
  • Twisted Spin Cobordism (extended abstract).
    Oberwolfach Reports vol. 11, no. 3, Workshop: Analysis, Geometry and Topology of positive scalar curvature (2014), pp. 2013 - 2014.

In preparation

  • with M. Joachim: A factorisation of the twisted index map via parametrised homotopy theory.
  • with S. Stolz: Q_0-acyclic A(1)-modules and the cohomology of K(Z/2,2).
  • with M. Land & G. Laures: Multiplicative properties of Ranicki's signature square.
  • with M. Land & G. Laures: Infinite loop space structures on G/Top.
  • with N. Perlmutter: Stable stability in odd dimensions.
  • with B. Calmès, E. Dotto, Y. Harpaz, M. Land, K. Moi, D. Nardin, T. Nikolaus & W. Steimle: Real K-theory of stable infinity-categories.


This semester I will teach the course Introduction to higher Categories together with Christoph Winges.

Previously, I was the teaching assistent of Daniel Kasprowski for the lecture course Topology II, and gave the course Mathematik für Geowissenschaftler II (in german). I ran seminars on Characteristic classes and Real Divisionalgebras (in german); I taught the lecture course Algebraic topology (in german), together with the two seminars The space of positive scalar curvature metrics, and Representation theory of finite groups (in german) at the University of Augsburg; I was the teaching assistant of Saint Nikolaus for the lecture course Algebraic Topology II, and that of Jens Franke for the lecture courses Linear algebra I, II and Introduction to algebra. More information can be found on the courses' websites.


Prof. Daniel Huybrechts erhält gemeinsam mit Debarre, Macri und Voisin ERC Synergy Grant

8. November 2019: "Pentagramma Mirificum". Hirzebruch lecture by Sergey Fomin

Hausdorff-Kolloquium im WS 2019/20

Toeplitz Kolloquium zur "Didaktik und Geschichte der Mathematik" im WS 2019/20

Berufspraktisches Kolloquium im WS 2019/20

21. Oktober 2019: Plücker Lecture 2019 by Frank den Hollander

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Prof. Dr. Valentin Blomer wurde zum Mitglied der Academia Europaea gewählt

Mathe-Team der Uni Bonn erzielt Spitzenplatz bei internationalem Wettbewerb

Ausschreibung: W2-Professur Reine Mathematik (Bewerbungsschluss: 31. Juli 2019)

Prof. Jan Schröer erhält Lehrpreis der Fakultät 2018; Sonderpreis für Dr. Antje Kiesel

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält Fields-Medaille 2018

Bonner Mathematik weiterhin exzellent

Prof. Stefan Schwede zum Fellow of the AMS gewählt

Bonner Mathematik im Shanghai-Ranking auf Platz 36 und bundesweit führend

Prof. Catharina Stroppel wurde zum Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina gewählt

Prof. Peter Scholze neuer Direktor am MPIM

Dr. Thoralf Räsch erhält Lehrpreis der Uni Bonn

Bonner Mathematik beim CHE-Ranking wieder in Spitzengruppe

Bonner Mathematik beim QS World University Ranking 2018 weltweit unter den TOP 50 platziert und bundesweit führend

Prof. Peter Scholze wurde zum Mitglied der Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und der Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften gewählt.

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis 2016

[de] [en]